A normal sized 6- or 7-quart slow cooker can hold 10 pounds of potatoes, enough to serve up to 20 people, and … I have been making mashed potatoes like this for over 50 years...and it's the way MY mother made them. Serve topped with a poached egg and smoked salmon for a quick-fix brunch. Mashed potatoes will keep for two to three days in the fridge, or you can freeze them in an airtight container. Smash the potatoes to mostly lump-free before adding the butter and milk. In a small saucepan heat butter and milk over low heat until butter is melted. No gift befits the food-obsessed people in your life like a cookbook. But on this day, they must be smooth and perfectly done. © Copyright 2020, Our Top 20 Most Cherished Christmas Cookies, Make-Ahead Breakfast Minis to Save Your Mornings, 15 Classic Sandwiches That Make Lunch Legendary, 14 Nights of Dinner Ideas All Under $2 Per Serving, 15 No-Yeast Breads for Quick and Easy Baking, 10 Easy Christmas Cookies for Once-a-Year Bakers, 9 Chicken Stew Recipes That Make for Comforting Dinners, 10 Leftover Turkey Meals to Freeze for Quick Weeknight Dinners, 16 Mom-Approved Christmas Cookies to Sweeten the Season, 18 Spicy Korean Recipes That Showcase Gochujang Chile Paste, Nutrition I know that you eat mashed potatoes beyond the Thanksgiving table, but, I dare you to find a more important day for this perfect no-lump recipe. One thing I suggest doing differently is to add the butter to the potatoes first, then add heated milk as needed. How to Make Mashed Potato Gravy. Add potatoes and cook until tender but still firm, about 15 minutes; drain. Check out Jamie’s recipe for Clapshot in Jamie Oliver’s Christmas Cookbook, on sale now, for more styling inspiration. Simple and delicious. However, there are a few things to consider before you start mashing.Here’s what you need to know about making mashed potatoes, from choosing the best spuds to how long to boil them: Everyone has their own idea of what makes perfect mashed potatoes. T